Select Page

Similarly, ETIAS will allow Colombian citizens to enter the smaller states, since they are also part of the Schengen area: since 2001, the European Union has published a list of countries whose nationals need a visa (Annex I) and a list of those that do not (Annex II). [18] Both lists are also accepted by Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania, although these four countries are not yet members of the Schengen area. [19] [20] [21] [22] The Schengen area is made up of 22 EU Member States and four EFTA member third countries: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania are members of the EU, but are not yet part of the Schengen area, but they do have a visa policy based on the Schengen acquis. [2] Applications for Schengen visas cannot be submitted more than six months before the proposed entry date into the Schengen area. [94] Embassies in all countries may require applicants to submit biometric identifiers (ten fingerprints and one digital photo) as part of the visa application process, which will be stored in the Visa Information System (VIS). Biometric identification items are not recorded in children under the age of 12. [95] Travellers applying for a Schengen visa for the first time must submit a personal application and must be interviewed by consular officials. If biometric identification has been provided in the past 59 months, the applicant may not be required to re-provide biometric identifiers.

If the visa application is admissible and there is no problem with the application, a decision must be made within 15 calendar days from the date the application is filed. [96] There is also a tendency to allow Russians – particularly from Finland – more and more one-year entry visas. Within the EU, it is planned to allow Russians to obtain multiple visa visas for up to five years, in part to reduce the workload at embassies. [Citation required] Overseas France and the Caribbean part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands have individual visa policies, which are largely in line with the Schengen area, with some exceptions for countries recently added to Schedule II and some additions. Colombia is an associate member of Mercosur.