Select Page

“With the number of road fatalities on the rise, today`s commitment has the potential to save more lives than almost anything we can accomplish in the next six years,” said Deborah A.P. Hersman, President and CEO of the National Safety Council, who participated in today`s announcement. “The integration of all models into the agreement ensures that safety doesn`t just apply to those who can afford it.” NHTSA estimates that the agreement will make the AEB standard for new cars three years faster than the formal regulatory process could. Over those three years, the commitment will prevent 28,000 crashes and 12,000 injuries, according to IIHS estimates. The deal announced in September makes it clear that NHTSA (and IIHS) have decided that a voluntary industry commitment instead of a formal implementation of rules would offer the fastest approach to offering AEB as standard equipment for vehicles in the United States. The process of developing and completing a federal motor vehicle safety standard can take years and an AEB mandate would likely not come into effect for at least seven or eight years. NHTSA concluded that a voluntary agreement could take effect much sooner. “The only reason to do that is if it goes faster” than writing a settlement, NHTSA Administrator Mark Rosekind said earlier this year. However, the Agency has not set a specific timetable for the implementation of the voluntary agreement, so it is not yet clear when OEMs intend to fulfil their commitment. AEB systems help reduce the severity of accidents or prevent accidents altogether by applying the brakes in future final frontal collision scenarios.

These systems use vehicle sensors such as radars, cameras and lasers to detect an imminent risk of an accident, warn and even brake the driver if the driver does not act enough. At the time of the deal, NHTSA estimated that the deal would make the AEB standard for new cars 3 years faster than the formal regulatory process could achieve. The AEB attaches great importance to regional development and collaborates with the various Russian regions. Within the AEB, there are two regional committees: the Southern Committee, based in Krasnodar, and the North-West Committee with an office in St. Petersburg. In 2013, we signed an agreement with the Ministry of Industry and Trade of the Republic of Tatarstan. Four manufacturers, Tesla, Volvo, Audi and Mercedes, have already fulfilled their commitment under the agreement, three years ahead of schedule. During the period under review, from 1 September 2018 to 31 August 2019, 12 manufacturers equipped more than 75% of their new passenger cars with AEB.

In 2016, among the 20 automakers that signed the agreement, Audi, BMW, FCA, Ford, General Motors, Honda, Hyundai, Jaguar Land Rover, Kia, Maserati, Mazda, Mercedes-Benz, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Porsche, Subaru, Tesla, Toyota, Volkswagen, and Volvo…